Downtown Antioch

Police Department, 882 Main Street (c. 1970)

Police Department, 882 Main Street (c. 1970)

This location has long been one of the first views of Downtown Antioch for people headed South on Route 83.

On September 15, 1969, the Village Board voted in favor of the addition of a new police department onto Village Hall on the west side of Main Street. Benes Construction of Antioch won the bid and the total cost for the development was $47,500, which also included new sidewalks and landscaping.

Taken from in front of Village Hall (1939)

The Antioch Police Department quickly outgrew this location, requiring a new station to be built at 433 Orchard Street. The new PD was dedicated in 1999. Soon after, the Antioch Chamber of Commerce moved into the 874 location and remains here today.

An ice cream parlor named Snow White’s was once located where the Village Hall is today. Back then people could sit on a swivel stool and take in the sights of Main Street while enjoying a frozen treat.